Palestine

5 Jul

I’ve included this book for pretty much the same reasons as I included Maus. As a graphic novel, it’s a great example of the interaction between type, illustration and layout in telling a story. Like Maus, it’s dealing with a serious (and quite upsetting) subject in a form that’s traditionally not serious at all.

Palestine offers some great examples of how type and image can be used to contribute to meaning: I think the ‘hijab’ page is a great example of this. It’s bold and striking and there’s a lot of movement going on that pulls you in.

One issue I have with this book is the cover. I think it would have been a really effective cover if the designers hadn’t included that little yellow box in the bottom left corner with praise for Palestine. I know including praise is a great marketing tool, but why could they not have just put it on the back cover? I really don’t think there’s any point in including it on the front cover because, to me, the purpose of a front cover is to catch a passerby’s eye. Sure, include an image of a medal of some kind, but I really don’t think including tiny type that no one can read as they pass the book on the shelf anyway is going to help. And especially not if it’s placed in an awkward box that detracts from an otherwise great cover.

Leave a Reply

